Ireland: Home to 4 winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature

23 Dec

For such a small island, Ireland is packed with a slew of noteworthy writers & poets. As I’m on my way to the Emerald Isle in only a few days, I wanted to share with you a beautiful Irish poem, the #1 Irish Christmas song video and some New Years blessings for 2012…Enjoy!

THE ROSE OF TRALEE

by William Pembroke Mulchinock

The pale moon was rising above the green mountains,
The sun was declining beneath the blue sea,
When I stray’d with my love to the pure crystal fountain
That stands in the beautiful vale of Tralee.

She was lovely and fair as the rose of the summer,
Yet ’twas not her beauty alone that won me,
Oh, no, ’twas the truth in her eyes ever beaming
That made me love Mary, the Rose of Tralee.
The cool shades of evening their mantle were spreading,
And Mary, all smiling, was list’ning to me.
The moon through the valley her pale rays was shedding
When I won the heart of the Rose of Tralee.

Tho’ lovely and fair as the rose of the summer,
Yet ’twas not her beauty alone that won me,
Oh, no, ’twas the truth in her eyes ever beaming
That made me love Mary, the Rose of Tralee.

Irish Toasts for the New Year:

May you be poor in misfortune, rich in blessings, slow to make enemies, and quick to make friends.

&

In the New Year, may your right hand always be stretched out in friendship, never in want. 

 

The Pogues “Fairytale of New York” is played every year in Ireland at Christmastime and even though I was more distracted by his horrid teeth at first, I’ve learned to really like this song:

The Pogues – Fairy-tale of New York

 

Info on the 4 Irish Nobel Prize winners in Literature & Other Resources:

William Butler Yeats

George Bernard Shaw

Samuel Beckett

Seamus Heaney

http://www.irelandnow.com/authors.html

Leave a Reply

